top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoshua Kellem

Skizzy Mars Returns With Nostalgia While Declaring He's A 'Pro Bad Decision Maker'

Skizzy Mars is back.


Reuniting with longtime producer Michael Keenan, Mars, real name Myles Mills, releases his first single of 2021, "Pro Bad Decision Maker." The video premiered via Nylon Friday. Directed by Gilbert Trejo, Mars never appears. Instead, the video tracks the demise of a couple's relationship from end to beginning. Mars provides the soundtrack.

Mars lets the track breathe for about 10 seconds before jumping into a two-verse tale of why he's in fact a "professional bad decision maker." Reminiscent of his early catalog, Mars jampacks tweetable lyrics into his verses with a heavy hand of reliability: "They should write a movie 'bout the sh*t we did / Deviated septum's from the drugs that we did / You think I'd learn from my past but I'm a creature of habit / We had so much going for us, man, what happened is tragic."


"It's one of the most Skizzy songs," Mars said to Nylon. "It's very self-aware, and I'm talking about some real sh*t. It's a mixture of how I sounded when I first came onto the scene and how I sound in 2021. It came from a real conversation with a friend. He said, 'We're professional bad decision makers.' I'm always writing in my head. When somebody says something, I write it down. That stuck. I'm talking about my mistakes without regrets. I'm telling my story and keeping it 100."


Mars first caught traction on music blogs in 2011 with "Douchebag," then mixtapes Phases and Pace in 2013 and 2014, respectively. He parlayed the success into opening acts for the likes of G-Eazy, Logic, B.o.B, and Ty Dolla $ign. Buoyed by "Time" [feat. G-Eazy and Olivver the Kid], The Red Balloon Project EP peaked at No. 35 on the Billboard 200 in 2015. Mars headed west to Los Angeles to record his debut album Alone Together, released in 2016 and peaking at No. 50, but suddenly halted releases for two years. He ended up in rehab, then released the Are You Ok? EP in 2018. Mars followed up Alone Together with Free Skizzy Mars a year after that. Now, Mars is gearing up for the release of his third album.


Listen to "Pro Bad Decision Maker" below.


72 views0 comments
bottom of page